N°27 National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington D.C., USA
N°27 National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington D.C., USA
N°27 National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington D.C., USA
October 2022-February 2023

AS LONG AS generations change but our struggles stay the same, I will be a feminist.

SOLANGE goes to Washington! After 26 large-scale embroidery interventions on construction sites in Europe and Morocco, Austrian artist Katharina Cibulka is taking a big leap and bringing her serial art project to public space in the United States.

The NMWA (National Museum of Women in the Arts) in Washington D.C. has invited the artist to cover approximately 1000 m2 of its façade with her largest embroidered scaffolding net to date. This is a great honor and new challenge for Cibulka. Her oversized pink messages advocate a fair society beyond the boundaries of gender, race, background and religion.

In keeping with the participatory spirit of SOLANGE, the NMWA initiated an open call for friends of the museum to submit their own ideas for a SOLANGE sentence. From these submissions, a central theme soon emerged: the sobering fact that many (feminist) demands have been made repeatedly for decades and yet remained unfulfilled. Echoing the saying “The more things change, the more they stay the same,” Cibulka and her team developed a sentence aimed at a broad, critically thinking public:

AS LONG AS GENERATIONS CHANGE BUT OUR STRUGGLES STAY THE SAME, I WILL BE A FEMINIST.

With this message, the artist spotlights all marginalized groups that must repeatedly and vigorously – and across generations – demand equal rights. Massive disadvantages on all socio-political levels do not affect “only” women, but also LGBTIQ and People of Color, particularly when intersecting.

Katharina Cibulka comments:

“Young people in particular are often unaware how much earlier generations had to fight for their rights, how hard the struggle has been. Equality is taken for granted and perceived as lasting. This is a fatal error. Our rights are fragile and – depending on the political constellation – can be eroded at any time. This realization is a recurring and painful experience.”

The artist often receives messages from older women who can’t believe that in 2022 we still have to stand up for the same causes as 50 years ago, sometimes even using the same slogans. The SOLANGE sentence wants to raise awareness for the fact that history painfully repeats itself and that we must not accept massive social setbacks without scrutiny.

The U.S. Supreme Court’s June 2022 ruling to overturn legal and safe reproductive care came as an incredible shock to many liberal Americans. Mothers and grandmothers who took to the streets for this right decades ago are now wondering what the new legal situation means for their children. The consequences of this ruling across the country, particularly in marginalized communities, are profound.

In Europe, too, we are witnessing backlashes in fundamental rights. Conservative forces are successfully garnering votes by propagating backward-looking, purely binary ideas of gender. These developments show how urgently we need to pay attention to existing imbalances and cultivate conversations on the importance of equality in modern and open society.

In Cibulka’s vision for the future, coming generations will no longer be held up by outdated gender discrimination. They need the freedom to work for global peace and a fair distribution of resources. Equality and equity are the basis for our collective efforts to preserve our planet:

Women and marginalized people are at the very center of the multi-layered problems the global community needs to solve today – the war in Ukraine, the climate crisis, pandemics, a lack of resources in the care sector. These gigantic challenges can only be mastered in a concerted effort. I see feminism as a necessary tool and endeavor in creating mutual understanding. We need to act quickly and hand in hand. The time of exploitation is over, universal solidarity is an absolute must!”

In this sense: Come join us in spreading equality!

 

© Fotocredits: Kevin Allen

N°27 National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington D.C., USA
N°27 National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington D.C., USA
N°27 National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington D.C., USA
Oktober 2022 - Februar 2023

AS LONG AS generations change but our struggles stay the same, I will be a feminist.

SOLANGE sich Generationen wandeln, doch die Ungerechtigkeiten bleiben, bin ich Feminist:in.

SOLANGE goes to Washington! Nach 26 bestickten Baustellen-Interventionen in Europa und Marokko macht die österreichische Künstlerin Katharina Cibulka nun einen großen Sprung und bringt ihr seriell angelegtes Kunstprojekt in den US-amerikanischen öffentlichen Raum.

Das NMWA (National Museum of Women in the Arts) in Washington D.C. hat die Künstlerin eingeladen, die ca. 1000 m2 große Außenfassade mit ihrem bisher größten bestickten Staubschutznetz zu gestalten. Dies ist für Cibulka eine große Ehre und neue Herausforderung. Mit ihren übergroßen pinken Botschaften tritt sie für eine faire Gesellschaft jenseits von Geschlechtergrenzen, Hautfarbe, Herkunft oder Religion ein.

Ganz im partizipativen Sinne von SOLANGE initiierte das NMWA einen Open Call und lud Freund:innen des Museums dazu ein, ihre Themen für einen SOLANGE-Satz zu posten. Aus dieser Sammlung kristallisierte sich ein zentrales Thema heraus: Die ernüchternde Tatsache, dass sich (feministische) Forderungen seit Jahrzehnten wiederholen und noch immer nicht erfüllt sind. Dem Gedanken folgend „The more things change, the more they stay the same.“ entwickelte Cibulka mit ihrem Team einen Satz, der sich an ein breites gesellschaftskritisches Publikum richtet:

AS LONG AS GENERATIONS CHANGE BUT OUR STRUGGLES STAY THE SAME, I WILL BE A FEMINIST.

SOLANGE SICH GENERATIONEN WANDELN, DOCH DIE UNGERECHTIGKEITEN BLEIBEN, BIN ICH FEMINIST:IN.

Mit dieser Botschaft rückt die Künstlerin all jene marginalisierten Gruppen in den Fokus, die immer wieder – auch über Generationen – mit Nachdruck ihre Rechte einfordern müssen. Massive Benachteiligungen auf allen gesellschaftspolitischen Ebenen betreffen nicht „nur“ Frauen, sondern genauso LGBTIQ und People of Color.

Dazu Katharina Cibulka:

„Gerade junge Menschen wissen oft gar nicht, wie sehr sich die vorige Generation für deren Rechte einsetzen, sie mühsam erkämpfen musste. Gleichberechtigung wird als selbstverständlich vorausgesetzt und als immerwährend empfunden. Dies ist ein fataler Irrtum. Unsere Rechte sind fragil und – je nach politischer Konstellation – jederzeit aushebelbar. Diese Erkenntnis ist eine wiederkehrende und schmerzliche Erfahrung.“

Die Künstlerin erhält immer wieder Mails von älteren Frauen, die es gar nicht fassen können, dass wir uns 2022 noch immer für die gleichen Anliegen einsetzen müssen wie vor 50 Jahren, zum Teil sogar dieselben Parolen verwenden. Der SOLANGE-Satz soll Bewusstsein dafür schaffen, dass sich Geschichte leidvoll wiederholt und wir massive gesellschaftliche Rückschritte nicht unhinterfragt hinnehmen dürfen.

Das im Juni erlassene Urteil des US-amerikanischen Höchstgerichts zur Aufhebung von legalen und sicheren Schwangerschaftsabbrüchen war ein unglaublicher Schock für viele liberale Amerikaner:innen; Mütter und Großmütter, die für dieses Recht auf die Straße gegangen sind und sich jetzt fragen, was die neue Rechtslage für ihre Kinder bedeutet. Die Folgen dieses Urteils sind mannigfaltig und dramatisch.

Auch in Europa beobachten Feminist:innen besorgniserregende Backlashes. Konservative Kräfte propagieren ein rückwärts gerichtetes, rein binäres Rollenbild und erzielen damit Wahlerfolge. Umso dringlicher ist es, die bestehenden Schieflagen für alle sichtbar aufzuzeigen und Diskussionen darüber zu führen, warum Gleichberechtigung ein zentraler Baustein für eine progressive und offene Gesellschaft ist.

Cibulka hat die Vision, dass sich kommende Generationen nicht mehr an klassisch feministischen Themen abarbeiten müssen. Sie sollen die Freiheit haben, ihre Energie für den globalen Frieden und eine faire Verteilung von Ressourcen einzusetzen. Gleichberechtigung und Gleichwürdigkeit sollen die Basis bilden, von der aus wir mit aller Kraft am Erhalt unseres Planeten arbeiten können:

„Bei den vielschichtigen Problemen, die wir als Gesellschaft derzeit zu lösen haben – Krieg in Europa, Klimakrise, Pflegenotstand, Pandemien – spielen Frauen und andere marginalisierte Menschen eine sehr zentrale Rolle. Die gigantischen Herausforderungen sind nur in einem gemeinsamen Kraftakt zu meistern. Ich verstehe Feminismus als notwendiges Instrument und Bemühen darum, wechselseitiges Verständnis zu generieren, um Hand in Hand rasch ins Handeln zu kommen. Die Zeit der Ausbeutung ist vorbei, die universelle Solidarität ein absolutes Muss!“

In diesem Sinne: Come join us in spreading equality!

 

© Fotocredits: Kevin Allen